Hall of Fame

Nominations are Closed

You can submit nominations for the Hall of Fame through the online form below. The deadline is April 1st.

For additional information, contact Alishia Piotrowski.

Submit Nomination  

The Hall of Fame celebrates those who embody the qualities that make the Dedman College of Hospitality at Florida State University an unparalleled place to learn. Inductees are individuals who have excelled in their careers and have made significant contributions to the Dedman College of Hospitality mission.

The award is presented at the annual Honors & Awards ceremony and dinner in the fall. This year, recipients will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the 75th Anniversary Gala on Friday, October 21st. The Gala will be replacing Dedman's annual Honors & Awards this year only.

The criteria for selection:

  • Exceptional career background
  • Significant professional recognition (industry/association awards)
  • Community involvement and recognition
  • Support of the Dedman College of Hospitality and Florida State University
2021 Alumnus of the Year

tony leung

Tony Leung



A successful hospitality leader turned entrepreneur, Tony Leung worked in food and beverage for 20 years when he made the decision to become a restaurant franchisee.

In 1964, Leung arrived from Hong Kong to attend Florida State University and majored in Hotel and Restaurant Administration. After graduation, he accepted a position with the John R. Thompson Restaurant Company in Chicago as an assistant manager in a Holloway House Cafeteria.

Shortly after, Leung joined Szabo Food Service in 1970 and was assigned to King Daughters Hospital in Madison, IN as a food service director. In this role, Leung was responsible for patient meals and the operation of the hospital cafeteria.

In 1972, Leung joined Travco Management Company in Charlotte, NC as a food and beverage director for the Holiday Inn Woodlawn. Leung quickly found success in this role and was selected as Holiday Inn’s Food and Beverage Director of the Year in 1974. Leung was soon promoted to corporate food and beverage director where he was responsible for 13 hotel restaurants and lounges in the North Carolina and Virginia markets.

Leung relocated to Daytona Beach, FL in 1980 to join Consolidated Inns as the corporate food and beverage director where he was responsible for seven Holiday Inn restaurants and lounges, as well as two independent restaurants and lounges. During his tenure with Consolidated Inns, he remodeled each restaurant and lounge.

Leung grew as an entrepreneur after purchasing his first Subway franchise in 1989. Finding growing success, he began opening additional locations and currently owns ten Subways in the Lakeland, FL area. Leung’s personal motto is “never stop learning” – one he has embraced throughout his entire career.

2020 Alumnus of the Year

joe collier

Joe C. Collier


Mainsail Lodging and Development

As President, Joe Collier sets the tone for Mainsail and, together with his leadership team, works to build a company where employees, partners and investors are all highly valued, and new ideas are welcomed. A native Floridian born in Miami, Joe received his Bachelor of Science in Hotel Management and Marketing from Florida State University and completed his internship in the European Hotel program in Leysin, Switzerland. He spent 15 years with Marriott International in sales, marketing and development before forming Mainsail in 1998.

Under Joe’s leadership, Mainsail was selected to develop and manage the world training headquarters for PricewaterhouseCoopers which included a 130,000 square foot training building, 360 unit hotel and amenities under a 10 year master lease with PwC. Since then Joe has established a high-end portfolio of lifestyle, boutique hotels, vacation rental homes and corporate furnished apartments throughout the Southeast and Caribbean. The company has been consistently recognized for excellence in the travel industry by Condé Nast Traveler, Trip Advisor, Southern Living, Wine Spectator and U.S. News & World Report. Additionally, Mainsail has received multiple awards from Marriott International, including induction into the Partnership Circle Hall of Fame. Mainsail Lodging & Development is the General Partner on the majority of its projects and finished 2019 with over $60 million in revenues.

Joe has been working in hotels and restaurants since he was 13 years old. He personally oversaw the restoration of the historic Leiman Home which is an architectural gem in South Tampa and on the National Register of Historic Places. Joe is an executive board member of both the Hillsborough County Hotel Association and Visit Tampa Bay, and has served on the Tourist Development Council since 2005. From 2016 to 2018, Joe stepped up as the Chairman of the Tampa Bay Sports Commission and participated in bringing both the National Football Championship and Super Bowl LV to Tampa, along with many other marquee events. In 2018, Joe was awarded the “Gonzmart Family Tourism Ambassador of the Year” by Tampa’s hospitality industry. He and his wife Camille are affiliated with multiple charities, have 3 children and live in South Tampa.

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Position Company
2019 Clint Day ('82) Chief Operating Officer Restoration Place
2018 Brian Ford ('89) CEO Tampa Bay Buccaneers
2017 Janine Budzius ('86) General Manager & CEO Philadelphia Country Club
2016 Dale Haney ('78) President Gate Hospitality Group
2015 Ted Mosley (’69) President & CEO Quorum Hotels & Resorts
2014 Ed Crovo (’69) Chief Operating Officer HV Global Group, Inc.
2013 Ty Helms ('79) Senior VP of Global Sales Hyatt Hotel Corporation
2012 Carol Dover ('78) President & CEO Florida Restaurant and Lodging Association
2011 John Culver ('82) President Starbucks Coffee
2010 Joseph Douglas ('83) Co-Founder
Managing Member
Captiva Restaurant Group
Carlsen Douglas Development
2009 David Gilbert ('78) Chief Operating Officer National Restaurant Association
2008 Anne Hamilton ('78) VP of Resort Sales & Services Walt Disney World Resort
2007 Chuck Floyd ('81) COO of North American Operations Global Hyatt
2006 Cyd Bougae (’75) SVP of Professional Development CMAA
2005 Bill Wagner (’67) General Manager & COO Shadow Wood Country Club
2004 Jeff O’Hara (’88) President AlliedPRA New Orleans
2003 Jeff Bell (’83) Executive Vice President Hillstone Restaurant Company
2002 Peter Hubschmitt ('67) Regional Manager Marriott
2001 Chris Borders (’75) General Manager & COO Atlanta Athletic Club
2000 Ashby Gordon Stiff, Jr. (’57) Professor Emeritus in Hospitality Florida State University
1999 Gabriel Brady ('61) VP of Sales & Marketing Gate Gourmet
1998 Martha Ann Hall-Ambrosio ('57) Partner & Vice President Controlled Cuisine
1997 Ken Creely (’66) President & CEO Golf Management Solutions
1996 James R. Steiner, Jr. (’75) Partner Abbott Realty
1995 Jim Riscigno (’66) Executive Vice President ClubCorp
1994 Ed Staros (’72) Founder & Executive Vice President Ritz-Carlton Hotels
title-inside title-centered