Cecil B. Day Ethics Award

Each year, the Dedman School of Hospitality confers the Cecil B. Day Ethics Award upon a highly successful hospitality industry leader, who is recognized for ethical leadership.

Cecil B. Day was known for his unshakeable commitment to faith-based values. To him, that meant treating everyone - from the modest employee to the shrewdest banker - with dignity and respect. In 1970, Day opened the first Days Inn with the goal of providing travelers with clean, comfortable, moderately priced rooms and restaurants. By the time he passed away eight years later, he owned more than 300 Days Inns in the U.S. and Canada. His family sold the company for $639 million.

In 2007, Clint Day, Cecil’s son and a 1982 Florida State graduate, established the Cecil B. Day Ethics Award in partnership with the Cecil B. Day family and Florida State University in cooperation with the National Restaurant Association.

2020 Cecil B. Day Ethics Award Recipient


Charles (Chuck) L. Drury, Jr.

President & CEO, Drury Hotels

Chuck Drury is President, Chief Executive Officer and a Director of Drury Hotels Company LLC., a national, family-owned and operated hotel company based in St. Louis, Missouri.

Read More

As president and chief executive officer, he oversees strategic planning and long-range direction for the hotel chain, which operates over 150 hotels in 25 states.

He began his career in the family business in 1966 at age 11 when he began working as a bus boy in one of the hotel restaurants. Since then he has worked in every aspect of the business including construction, development, marketing and hotel management. In 1984, he was appointed to Drury's Board of Directors, and in 1985, at age 30, was elected President and CEO.

He earned a B.S. degree in Business Administration from St. John's University, Collegeville, Minnesota in 1978.

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Company
2019 Christopher Nassetta Hilton
2018 Sheila C. Johnson Salamander Hotels & Resorts
2017 Dan T. Cathy Chick-fil-A
2016 Cheryl Bachelder Popeyes Louisiana Kitchen
2015 Robert B. Rowling TRT Holdings, Inc.
2014 Joel Manby Herschend Family Entertainment
2013 Eric Affeldt ClubCorp
2012 J.W. "Bill" Marriott, Jr. Marriott International Inc.
2011 Richard Rivera Real Mex Restaurants Inc.
2010 Michael Kaufman National Restaurant Association
2009 Horst Schulze Capella Hotel Group
2008 Craig Miller Sonic Drive-In
2007 Truett Cathy Chick-fil-A
title-inside title-centered