Walking in the footsteps of US presidents

December 06, 2017
  Twelve Dedman Global Club Management and Leadership students toured the historic Chevy
  Chase Club with its food and beverage manager, Dedman alumna Elisha Cicerone, during the
  CMAA’s 2017 National Student Education Conference in Washington, D.C. Events were held
  in private clubs attended by U.S. presidents. President Barack Obama and Secretary of
  State Rex Tillerson are members of the Chevy Chase Club.

Dedman Global Club Management and Leadership students toured renowned private clubs frequented by former U.S. presidents while attending the Club Managers Association of America’s 2017 National Student Education Conference in Washington, D.C.

The twelve students enjoyed educational sessions and panel discussions focusing on private club management, their career aspirations and the future of the industry. They were joined by program director Cynthia Johnson and office manager Joshua Harkness.

A panel discussion on current industry trends presented by leaders of top Washington, D.C. clubs was the focus of a lavish lunch during a day at the Metropolitan Club. The students also toured the facilities of the historic club, founded in 1863 by members of the U.S. Treasury Department and frequented by almost every president since Abraham Lincoln.

The group participated in round table sessions for young professionals in the club industry during a day at Chevy Chase Club in nearby Maryland. They participated in breakfast, lunch, tours, and club activities — bowling, paddle ball, group fitness and golf. Founded in 1892, Chevy Chase Club has extended honorary memberships to all U.S. presidents and vice presidents. Many cabinet members and Supreme Court justices have been members as well. 

At the Army and Navy Club, students enjoyed a tour, breakfast, and a presentation on women in the club industry from Dedman alumna Elisha Cicerone, food and beverage manager of the Chevy Chase Club. Since being established as a club in 1885, the Army and Navy Club has been a home away from home for our country’s military officers. Its current members include former President Barack Obama and U.S. Secretary of State Rex Tillerson.